Donate - narutod20 Store - Log in - Register - Profile - Log in, check your inbox - FAQ - Search - Members - Groups

New this week: Portfolio of Prestige: Volume III at the Naruto d20 Store! Enjoy the book, everyone!

Sneak Attacks & Jutsus

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Narutod20.com Forum Index -> Beginner's Lodge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
RinVindor
ANBU Leader


Joined: 16 Feb 2016
Posts: 202
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2016 12:32 am    Post subject: Sneak Attacks & Jutsus Reply with quote

Just curious as to the precise workings between the two, for example would a person be able to use Ninpou: Kage Nui (Ninja Arts: Shadow Needles) and deal Sneak Attack damage if the person were caught in Kage Mane no Jutsu?

I'm assuming yes.
_________________
The Naruto D20 Discord Channel
The Community Creation Compendium
My Roll20 Macro Jutsu Maker
Roll20 Character Sheet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Dairius_Chi
Situationally Useful


Joined: 02 Jun 2010
Posts: 2633

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2016 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The rule Frankto doled out some time back (unsure exactly where) is that the attack has to originate from you to apply Sneak Attack dice, or precision damage in general. An example he gave was that Ishi Shuriken no Jutsu would NOT benefit since you are ninja-ing/telekinesis-ing the rocks from nearby at the target.

So Kage Nui, which originates from the shadow(s) used as a source rather than you personally throwing needles formed from shadow, would not benefit following those guidelines.

Another thing to take into account is even in core d20, attacks such as Scorching Ray which make multiple attacks as part of a single action, only apply Sneak Attack to one ray/missile/attack, so any such jutsu that let you make X attacks at your highest attack bonus would also only benefit from Sneak Attack the first. I suppose you could call out you want the 2nd or Xth attack to benefit, rather than the first, but it would have to be declared before making the attack rolls, or assumed to be the first, and thus wasted on a miss.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Athildur
Sexually progressive Valkyrie


Joined: 27 Jul 2005
Posts: 3192
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2016 1:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The reasoning is because with attacks originating from you (thrown weapons, ray attacks, etc) you are the one doing the (precision) aiming.

With kage nui, you're trying to aim the needles from a distance, which would not allow you the level of precision required for sneak attack damage.

That is purely a GM-type 'flavor' decision though, as technically the rules don't really care about where the attack roll comes form.
_________________
Oy, this is going to be troublesome *sigh*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AzothCrow
Genin


Joined: 15 Apr 2014
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2016 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A decent rule of thumb is; if you make an attack roll as a part of the jutsu, yes. If not, no.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Narutod20.com Forum Index -> Beginner's Lodge All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group, Theme by GhostNr1