Donate - narutod20 Store - Log in - Register - Profile - Log in, check your inbox - FAQ - Search - Members - Groups

New this week: Portfolio of Prestige: Volume III at the Naruto d20 Store! Enjoy the book, everyone!

Sage Mode Damage Soak

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Narutod20.com Forum Index -> Beginner's Lodge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sacredstorm
Genin


Joined: 13 Nov 2007
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 3:58 am    Post subject: Sage Mode Damage Soak Reply with quote

Sage Handbook, p 21 wrote:
When struck by an attack that would deal damage, the user is instead protected by his senjutsu chakra. The user expends up to 1 point of senjutsu chakra to soak 2 points of damage taken. The user is able to hold the ability back completely or partially.


Seeking confirmation on the above text, is Sage Mode intended to only ever soak 1 senjutsu chakra's worth of damage each hit?

Does holding the ability back completely or partially refer to either spending 0 senjutsu chakra or soaking 1-3 (depending on mastery) damage off of a single point of senjutsu chakra?

Personally, I'm wondering if it's even possible to reach the mode's daily damage limits if you can only ever soak up 2-4 points of damage each hit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ZeronosVega
The Tank


Joined: 10 Dec 2009
Posts: 838
Location: Thomasville, Georgia

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 10:58 am    Post subject: Re: Sage Mode Damage Soak Reply with quote

Sacredstorm wrote:
When struck by an attack that would deal damage, the user is instead protected by his senjutsu chakra. The user expends up to 1 point of senjutsu chakra to soak 2 points of damage taken. The user is able to hold the ability back completely or partially.

Seeking confirmation on the above text, is Sage Mode intended to only ever soak 1 senjutsu chakra's worth of damage each hit?


I've always assumed that that is a wording error, as the rest of the text implies that you can spend more. It probably should be worded " the user can spend at least 1 point of senjutsu chakra to soak 2 points of damage taken."

Sacredstorm wrote:
Does holding the ability back completely or partially refer to either spending 0 senjutsu chakra or soaking 1-3 (depending on mastery) damage off of a single point of senjutsu chakra?


It basically means you can choose to not use the ability at all or to only soak some of the damage, but not all of it. It's really in the event you're fine with taking the damage, want to conserve senjutsu chakra for an attack, etc.
_________________
ZeronosVega's Creation Index
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Narutod20.com Forum Index -> Beginner's Lodge All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group, Theme by GhostNr1